my fave foreign films

Trippin’over: bohemian rhapsody by Queen

So i was gifted with 4 days off from work which is super rare in my profession (which i am a nurse btw). So apart from meeting up with some of my friends, i have been re-watching some of my fave foreign films. I was surprised to discover that even though i have watched it before (some more than twice for that matter); these films still ellicited the same emotions i had when i first saw it–and that these films either made me cry, made me sad and happy at the same time. This may sound clichè; but these touched my soul and that these films will always have a special place in my heart. Please forgive me for this long post. I was not aware that it is THIS long.

Some in the list are from the same director (which is wong kar wai) and by that you may have guessed that he’s one of my fave. I really can’t pinpoint the thing i love about him as a director and writer. As i think about it, maybe it’s the rawness his films bring and the limited lines each actor say that makes me think and makes me feel more. I really don’t know but what i am certain is that i REALLY rave his films.

Another thing you may notice is that, some of the films listed here have the same actor(which is tony leung). And yes i REALLY love this actor. Who wouldn’t??!! It’s his eyes that speaks those unsaid lines,his face that spoke thousands of emotions. He may have a beautiful face but what i really like about him is the mysteriousness he brings onscreen and the unsaid emotions that makes me want to hug him and tell him that “hush, everything will be okay love”. So i maybe a fantard,so sue me! Ha!

So here is the list of my fave foreign films:

1. Happy together by wong kar wai, 1997

This makes me cry each time. Yes, this breaks my heart every time i watch it. It has always been my dream to live and work in a foreign land. A bonus if you have someone whom you love to share this. This film exposes you to the real struggles of life and of gay marriage. I know life is never easy (who says otherwise??!) But we all root for happy endings. Most of the american films feed us that there is a happy ending; but in real life, we must struggle to have one. Although the film has limited lines, the emotions that each scene expresses speaks directly in my heart. I was never been the same the first time i watched it. It took me a month to finally realized that “hey, it’s just a film”. It took me some time to tell my heart “you are already broken, but it will be okay”. I have this habit that when something deeply touched me (whether it’s a film, a book or experience) it takes me some time to get over it and embrace what i feel. This film bares me until i am raw with all my emotions. Despite making me sad, it made me smile in the end and made me think that although there may not be a happy ending for everyone, we always can hope.

image

The infamous dance

image

*sigh*

image

Ze lamp

image

*sigh* he’s so beautiful *sigh*

Fave Quotes:

● “Turns out that lonely people are all the same”

● “Lai Yiu-Fai….we could start over”

2. Chung king express by wong kai wai, 1994

Oh, what a wonderful sight to see the young Tony Leung! *sigh* it’s actually a relief to watch this film after happy together. This film is not as heavy as the former but it still has the same impact. Who doesn’t hope to find love, who doesn’t wish to be loved? I read a comment wherein a random guy says that it would be nice to have a gf who sneaks into his place to clean and unknowingly brings stuff to remember her. It’s actually sweet but then creepy at the same time. When Tony Leung tells Faye Wong that those things she brought to his place was from his exgirlfriend, i want to punch him in the face for being stupid. Ha! But love i would never do that to you.

image

Two drunk strangers

image

My dream cop *sigh*

image

This scene makes me smile like a high-school girl

image

And they fell asleep together

Fave Quotes:

● “So where do you want to go?”
“Wherever you want to take me”

● “The body loses water when you jog, so you have none left for tears.”

3. In the mood for love by wong kai wai, 2000

The dresses of Mrs. Chan is to die for! The sleek-hair of Tony Leung makes my mouth drool. Despite the ugliness of the place or environment, despite the ironic circumstance they are put into, the connection is real. It makes me wonder; if they pursue their relationship for more than what it is, will it be justified? Can it be labeled as true and right when it was started from wrong? In this film, loneliness has a new facadè and sometimes feelings really crawls behind you until you are caught unaware that it finally consumed you. But despite this, i admire the two main characters for their conscious effort to be different from their spouses. Yes, it will be easy to embrace one’s feelings but one must be responsible for his/her actions.

image

This scene is really cool..and ironic

image

I think wong kar wai has a thing for taxi shots

image

*sigh* (again..and again..and again)

Fave Quotes:

● “Feelings can creep up just like that. I thought i was in control.”

● “They went up a mountain, found a tree, carved a hole in it and ehispered the secret into the hole. Then they covered it with mud. And leave the secret there forever.”

4. Lust, Caution by Ang Lee, 2007

Lust, caution. Lust and caution. Lust or caution. These words envelope the entire film. It is highly sexual but with the fear of the unknown. You can feel the struggles of each character, and the chemistry they have. It’s one of Tony Leung’s films that makes me want to hug him tightly (me and my unsolicited hugs). The thing about old-era movies is that you gets a glimpse of past lives that were not taught at school or very unlikely to be read in history books. With political dilemma, the search for comfort seems to be found in the enemy but even the so-called enemy has its own struggles. Mind you, the scenes are artistically crafted making even the sex-scenes filled with unsaid feelings.

image

Ze poster

image

* swoon*

image

The chemistry..

Fave Quotes:

● “He knows better than anyone the extent of pretending. He not only invades my body, buy my heart. Only if I faithfully stay in this role can i burrow into his heart. He makes me bleed and cry everytime, only then will he be satisfied, only then will he feel alive in the dark. Only he knows that it is real.”

5. Cinema Paradiso by Guiseppe Tornatore, 1988

The story is about an unlikely friendship between a young boy and the movie theatre’s projectionist. There are plenty of flashbacks and nostalgic feel. Cinema Paradiso represents the old society as well as what we have in the present time. There will always be critics, the pessismists; but the real challenge is finding one’s passion even when faced with hindrances. The story makes me believe in dreams, in friendship, in memories and impact of one human being to another. It goes to say that dreams do come true if the passion is there.

image

image

Fave Quote:

*my fave quote is the story between the princess and the soldier. The story is kinda long, so i did not put it here.*

6. Y Tu Mama Tambien by Alfonso Cuaron, 2001

Beach. Roadtrips. New experiences. As a woman, we are forced by norm to smile irregardless of what we truly feel. We are taught that embracing our sexuality is very unlady-like. The truth is, adults are idolized by the children, and they mirror what the adults do. It just saddens me that one experimental night could lead to a broken frienship. Maybe there is truth in that part. A sad truth. But anyway the funny part of this movie is when the female character tries to teach the two teens on how to pleasure a woman. Maybe males should learn from this movie 🙂

image

image

Long drive and long convos.

image

The controversial dance

image

The beach

Fave Quote:

● “Life is like the surf, so give yourself away like the sea.”

7. Three Colors: Blue by Krzysztof Kieslowski, 1993

How could one cope when your husband and only child dies? How can one’s life goes on? This is the question that haunts me the entire time i watched this film. Death is inevitable, but grief is real. The struggle to live after losing your family is the main focus of this film. I can feel the struggle of the main character. The unanswered questions, the challenge to live each day without them. Grief is something we rarely talk about, but it should be something we should all be prepared. But can we be prepared at all?

image

image

This scene breaks my heart, when she cries only when submerged in the pool.

Fave Quote:

● “Now I have only one thing left to do: nothing. I don’t want any belongings, any memories. No friends, no love. Those are all traps.”

8. Three Colors: Red by Krzysztof Kieslowski, 1994

Another unlikely friendship is formed from a former judge and aspiring model. The former who spies and listens to his neighbors phone calls. The thing about old age and loneliness is that, we rarely talk about it; assuming that it is inevitable, but we ten to overlook the elderly and their petty problems. If one’s action is socially immoral but the reasons for those is humane; will it be justified? When we grow old, will we look at our lives with a smile or with regret?

image

image

Her famous billboard ad

image

The judge and her

Fave Quotes:

● “I want nothing.”
“Then stop breathing.”
“Good idea.”

● “If I had to go to court..are there still judges like you?”
“You won’t go to court. Justice doesn’t deal with innocent.”

7. Amelie by Jean-Pierre Jeunet, 2001

Set in Paris. A beautiful parisenne. A beautiful cinematography. The unending play of lights and colors. This is a feel-good movie minus all the cheesiness and crap. It reminds us of the innate kindness of humans, the ethereal hope and happy endings. Despite ironic circumstances, a person can choose to be good or bad; a person can hope or lose it; to believe in love or do something to make the his/her happy ending real.

image

image

Fave Quotes:

● “So my little Amelie, you don’t have bones of glass. You can take life’s knocks. If you let this chance pass, eventually, your heart will become as dry and brittle as my skeleton.”

● “Without you, today’s emotions would be the scurf of yesterday.”

8. Life is Beautiful by Roberto Benigni 1997

The first time i watched this, the tears were unstoppable. There is a soft spot for me for films featuring unconditional love of a father. This film makes me terribly miss my papa, and makes me smile and be grateful to have a papa like him. The thing is we are all responsible on how we perceive and accept the challenges we face. We can either make the most of what little we have, whine, or still be grateful. The life we face everyday will always depend on how we handle our so-called life.

image

image

*sniff*

image

Fave Quote:

● “What kind of place is this? It’s beautiful. Pigeons fly, women fall from the sky! I’m moving here!”

So i hope i did not bore you. I hope you had fun reading my raves. I still have a long list of films i want to watch. The list seems to be always adding something. Until the next tearjerker or a feel-good movie 🙂

PS: The pics and quotes are from the web.

Leave a comment